mercoledì 4 maggio 2016

5X01 BSOD - REVIEW

Guess who’s back?

No, not Voldemort...well,it depends,you might see the similaritie with Samaritan...anyways, not Voldemort.

The best, best, best show ever is back! Finally! After a whole year! 365 days without Person of Interest, and now we’ve finally been put out of our misery! And with what premiere! Let’s comment it together. 


This episode was a mix, a huge flashback to remind us what happened, and everything that happened. Now, the intro, we’d already seen it, I think it was at San Diego Comic Con that they showed it, but really, it presumes nothing good.

If you can hear this, you alone, the only thing left to fuss is the sound of my voice. I don't knwo if any of su made it. Did we win? Did we lose? I don't know. I'm not even sure I know what victory would mean anymore. And either way,it's over. So let me tell you who we were. Let me tell you who you are. And how we fought back.

This is evidently a flash forward, a trick that Jonah certainly is well accustomed with, given how much his brother Christopher uses it (you might have seen the mind-blowing Memento). My guess is,she's talking to Samaritan: let me tell you who you are.

I don’t know how many of us are left, Root says. Frightening, to say the least. Then again, we’ve already been warned that not all of our heroes make it out alive, Michael has implied it more than once, tweets give us an inkling … in a word, we’re pretty sure not everybody will live. 

But … we’re talking about a cast that shot Carter’s death twice with a different character just not to spoil anything, they told us that in season 4 finale at least 6 people would die, we fussed, yet it was only some recurring characters (I actually felt bad about Grice, it would have been cool to know his history with Shaw). So … not all is lost. Do remember that they like to have us suffer, though. 

This season is, sadly, the last one (unless Netflix becomes deus ex machina and picks up this unprecedented show, fingers crossed), and they said they were gonna drop the mic, leave with a boom … we’re not gonna make it out intact, know it. Anyways, we were left to our Team being chased by Samaritan’s goons all over New York, and the first scene we see, is John holding the case with what remains of the Machine. So they split, a few things are left to our intuition, but I think it’s reasonable that it was the same night and the few days after that. So let me resume it: 


  • John is on the run with the case.
  • Finch is on the run.
  • Root has the worst of it, the sole fact that it was Zachary, Greer’s number one minion after Martine and Jeremy, says it all, she’s the one whose head they want the most, because she’s in contact with the Machine, she’s the interface.
  • Fusco is undergoing an investigation from IA and FBI about Elias and Dominic’s deaths. 
Finch and John finally find each other again, and coolly, Harold saves his bro’s ass (I’m itching to see him handle a gun, seriously). But our Harry has bad memories of ferries … we all remember how Nathan left this world, don’t we? Our heroes finally step on and try their luck, while Fusco has to deal with Detective Soriano and the guy from FBI. 
In the beginning I thought it was Samaritan to have arranged the whole thing about him getting arrested for murdering the two kingpins, yet then I realized that those two investigating were actually ruining the evil AI’s plans. That’s why Soriano conveniently had problems with his peacemaker, and the FBI guy … he changed his mind out of the blue, how comes? So from suspect, Fusco became hero. 

However … our dear detective is too clever to just let everything slide, and, sounding like a perfect conspiracy nut, he goes on and on about some higher plot to kill Dominic and Elias. It’s only gonna get messier and messier from here, no doubt, we’ve seen in the extended preview that he gets shot, but I wonder, will he finally get to know about the Machine and Samaritan? 

I know his friends are protecting him by not telling him, but wouldn’t it be fair if Lionel knew what is he up against? The less people know, the better, yes, yes, but still, Fusco has been fighting side by side with Team Machine since the beginning more or less, why not just let him in? After all, he’s faced Samaritan’s goons either way. Just tell him already. What do you think? 
My guess is, what gets him shot is this search for truth he’s started, Samaritan’s gonna be on his tail, and we know how fast the evil thing is growing. 

Speaking of that … I find it alarmingly creepy that Samaritan can just switch humans on and off like it wants, incite civilians against our Team, like it did in the subway scene, just use human beings like pawns in a chess game, in fact. Finch said that about The Machine, but it’s Samaritan to be actually enacting that. I feel like this war is like the ones Greek gods fought amongst them, using human beings the same as a child would use those plastic soldiers to play. 

I mean, in the Greek myth, gods sided with this or that hero, helping them, but always indirectly, same as The Machine and Samaritan have been doing, though those gods didn’t just help, they had their games to win, and the assets, the plastic soldiers, were humans. It’s a huge metaphor that creepily applies to our world in real life as well, if you think about it. Then again, PoI is well known for the cultural references. 

The talk between Harold and The Machine was very sweet, it felt like a cute little kid asking countless questions to her dad. And when he rethinks his decision of erasing her memories every night? Touching, to the very least. The analogy with Harold’s father only made it more heartbreaking, I honestly had tears in my eyes. It was refreshing to see how Finch has changed his opinion about The Machine, we’ve seen that ever since he started the project, he thought of it as a possible enemy, never a friend, yet now, their relationship is becoming more and more the father-daughter type. He gave her the she pronoun for the first time, even, and that actually counts more than you might think, because it means that, officially, The Machine is indeed the same as a human being for him now, not an asset, not a simple artificial thing, but a real person indeed. 

Nathan and Grace giving him advice was sweet, it really felt like a true parent talking to his friends about his teenage daughter giving him a hard time. I’m sure those of you that have children might be able to relate to his issues, broadly speaking. 

Now the subway scene. 




Do you see any references here? On a funny note, why is it always the subway? It’s like a theme that keeps coming back, since the pilot, and I wonder if it’s involuntary or it was prepared since the beginning.

I love how Reese and Root’s relationship has been changing since their beginnings. They were mortal enemies, he didn’t trust her one bit, she was bitchy, annoying, let’s not forget she kidnapped Harold … yet, they’ve grown fond of each other, now it’s like they’re those siblings that keep bickering but will always have each other’s back. 

I love the way he thinks of her, fusses over protecting her, like a real big brother. I love how he’s practically that for both her and Shaw. Then again, we know our Team Machine is like a real family, where Finch is the cautious dad, Reese is the navigated big brother that keeps his unruly little sisters under his protective wing, and Fusco is the crazy uncle that makes you laugh with his hilarious stories. Although, I guess given the progress we’ll see with Shoot, I shouldn’t say Shaw and Root are sisters, but whatever (don’t hold it against me, I love them together, but really, this ship is fan service). 

Where are we going next? The end of the episode left us with hope: The Machine has restarted living, more or less, things might get better. Fusco is inquiring on Elias and Dominic’s deaths. He found a bullet the sniper left (which already stinks for me, because I don’t think Samaritan agents would be that sloppy), and he’s gonna look into it. 

Things are gonna get chaotic, no doubt. Until the next time, my fellow Irrelevants! This is gonna be a very hellish month, I was antsy even before watching the episode, and because we’re gonna get two episodes a week not, I need to remind you to book your sessions with the best shrink you can find, because we’re not gonna come out of this intact, you know it. You guys think I can resurrect Freud for the purpose?



me before watching every episode
Comment here or on the page,if you like,let me know what you think about this season premiere!

- All about Person of Interest admin aka Gio