I decided I'd start with this gif because I think it perfectly sums up this episode,doesn't it?
| basically,every Irrelevant Addicted u.u |
So,like always,this season two the finale is split into two episode,I think for one simple reason: to drive the fans nuts. That can be the only explanation. Well,the insane one.
Now...let's start from the beginning...without thinking that this one was the second to last episode of this season and that in a week only PoI will be over...I feel like crying already :'(
| yeah,we understand you,Leo... |
Although,there is hope for a season 5,so...
But let's get to the point. Asylum. One hell of an episode. Definitely, I know I seem to be repeating myself, but the thing is,all the episodes of this amazing show are spectacular,case closed.
Now...time for a real review. Well,you basically nuts admin's review,that is. Make it suffice.
We might reduce the main points to three,but there is much more than just those main ones. I'll be random,no specific order,if not the one of the episode.
Yeah,because,you just give infinite access to the government's feeds to a private organization that believes to be able to control an evil AI and you expect them not to do things behind your back to? Seriously? Seriously?! What the heck do you think they normally do? And,why the heck do you think they're doing all of this? Patriotism,like you (even though,that can be argued,but that's another point)? Please...Greer even turned his back to his own country.Apart from this,I'll have to admit that Control is growing on me. I mean,I've always liked her,despite everything,but she's been growing on me. She's freaking cold and with a sheer determination and a badassery (yes,that too),that's freaking awesome even if she's on the bad side.
Although,I bet she won't be on that side for long. Just like I thought Hersh would change,and he kind of did,I think she will too. Not totally. I mean,it's not like she will join Team Machine (if we win,that is),but she's possibly be some sort of Elias,maybe.
This,made me smile:
It only means that she's reconsidering Team Machine,or,better said,that she kind of esteems and respects Harold. Well,that was clearly already,but I think she begins to understand his point of view.
Not sure if you get what I mean,of if I'm right.
2. Elias and Dominic at war. Oh,well,we can't say we didn't see that coming. It was as clear as the sun that Elias would strike back after Dominic killed his right-hand/best friend Anthony (aka Scarface),who I miss,by the way.
I mean,come on,Elias is The New Godfather. All due respect to Dominic and his evil mastermind,because he is truly that,but...well,Elias is Elias. And he has his fine and inimitable style. Dominic might be a mastermind,a pure master of strategy,but he'll never reach Elias. Let's be honest,the New Godfather is always one step ahead.
Now,Finch helping his old chess mate hold his business together,well,that was pretty obvious. Who else could that be? I like that,despite being a villain,Elias seems to always stand halfway. I mean,you know he's a villain,because he's a ruthless mob boss and everything,but on the other hand,he's helpful and not just to our Team Machine,but also to keep criminals at bay.
I'm not sure if there is an English equivalent,but here in Italy we say "non si muove foglia che Dio non voglia",which basically means "without God will's,no leaf moves",well,I'd paraphrase it referring to Elias. Nothing moves if he doesn't will it to.
Dominic is just at the beginning. Like an impatient pupil wanting to pass his teacher too fast.
![]() |
| here's when he finds out his own friend betrayed him |
Although I think he acted out of rage. Technically,he did ask for Link's own advice,probably hoping his friend would say to think better about it first,but at the same time knowing his friend would agree with his decision,if it had been somebody else,that is.
Maybe I'm reading between the lines when there's nothing,but I'm seeing a human side in Dominic. And that makes me like him more. Because despite behind so ruthless,he's human too,and when he realizeds his friend is dead and it's his own fault,he's clearly hurt. Just like he is when he thinks his friend has betrayed him.
![]() |
| here's when he realizes he's killed his own friend for nothing |
How would you feel if your best friend betrayed you? And even worse,if you were responsible for your best friend's death?
Although,what goes around,comes around,Mini. You killed his best friend,a revenge could only be expected. A pretty cruel revenge,yes,but...well, an eye for an eye,right?
3. Reese and Fusco caught up in the above mentioned war. Yeah,like fighting an evil AI wasn't enough. My sixth sense tells me one of them won't make it out of there alive. But my sixth sense (despite my being a woman) works as well as the Expo works,so... (Italians will understand).
What I mean is that,the fact that the voice (the woman,Shelly) says that some won't make it and we see Lionel,it could be a hint like it could be just a trap. We know all too well they like to do that. A lot. So while they hint at Lionel dying,the victim might be somebody else and I have no idea why but since Paleyfest I've been having this bad feeling about John...just hope I'm wrong.
About Reese and Fusco,there is also to acknowledge their increased chemistry. Their bantering is always getting sassier (did I spell it right? more sassy,that is) and it's hilarious. They're like an odd couple. Well,in the beginning Reese and Finch were that,but always in a different way.
4. Root and Finch on the rescue. It was a trap. I smelled trap since I saw the preview. And Root perfectly knew that,but of course,she'd just heard her beloved one's voice,after believing her dead... would you be rational? Sometimes I wonder how the heck does Harold manage to always be that.
Although,the chemistry between Root and Finch is really growing too and their moments are sometimes hilarious.
Now,her challenging The Machine smells so much of parallelism with Contingency that I won't even mention it.
I'll just go straight to Root killing Martine. I won't lie,it was nice to see. Such a badass scene. And so sudden. Maybe because I wasn't expecting the Blonde (now Brown-Haired) Terminator to get killed so easily. Maybe I expected blood. Ok,I'll admit...I did expect blood. Much blood.
I believe Martine was as much as bait as Sameen was anyway. It was obvious that Root would seek revenge and Greer perfectly knew that.
I'll shut up at this evil man being so cruel not to even blink an eye when who was practically his right-hand/protegé was killed. Sadly,the end of The Creepy Duo.
Greer is so creepy and yet fascinating as a villain. I'll never say that enough. Part of me hopes he dies as painfully as possible. The other would want him to live. Maybe Samaritan is defeated but he goes on the run?
| ME WHEN THE MACHINE TALKS |
They've said only one AI will survive after the finale. Well,don't know about you,but I bet on our Machine. Although,they might be cruel enough to let Samaritan "kill her" and then in season 5 she'll resurrect (only now I see the season finale title YHWH might have the simplest of meanings after all).
That The Machine cared,we always knew,although I did have some doubts at first,just like Harold. I'll admit I almost expected her to call him daddy xD
Now...we're close to the ending and overall,this is me:
I see tears,many,many tears ahead,my fellow Irrelevants. And much desperation.
Because being a PoI Irrelevant is a tough job and not everybody if apt to it,and those who are...well,they tend to be a little nuts at some point.
Said this,I say BYE and,hold on,CBS will see reason at some point and finally give the announcement we're all waiting for.




Nessun commento:
Posta un commento