giovedì 7 maggio 2015

4x22 YHWH (season finale) - REVIEW



I couldn't help but start the review with this. After all,after four seasons,The Machine was/is one of us,isn't she?
The magnificence of this show...it gets us to love even an AI!
Although it's not just for her that gif.

praying for season 5 to be actually confirmed
But let's get to the point. Although,a kindly mention that this was the last episode and we don't even know for sure there is a season 5 (sigh!). Those at CBS will have to make up their minds at some point,but as I said,it's about them having to decided which ones among their popular shows to drop. If things go bad and they decide to be stupid,I hope those at Warner Bros. are a little bit more foreseeing and sell the rights to another network (because of course,they CAN do that!)

But enough with the premise. Now.YHWH. Well,the title says it all,I guess. It's Yaweh,Jewis for God. So the title is referred to both AIs:

The Machine dying. Well,the religious reference is strong here. It makes me think of Christ dying to save us and I bet that was the idea,for how blasphemous it may sound. I mean,The Machine could have easily saved herself by turning her back to her human agents,just like Christ could have avoided all that suffering by using his Father's "powers" (pass me the term). But instead she chose to die to save them,just like Christ chose to die to save us.
Being Catholic (sort of),I am the first one to know such a definition would make grimace not few people,especially in the Vatican,but it fits and after all,there are worse ways of offending,if we have to be honest. It's just a similarity/parallelism after all,can't hurt anyone.

Samaritan. "A deity guiding our fates" as Greer says. This one might be referred to the Greek idea of fate as well,maybe,but the parallelism remains. We believe (everybody in their own different ways,at least for what concerns the three big monotheist religions) in a God guiding us through life. Just like Samaritan watches us all and guides our steps. Maybe a bit more cruelly,but still.

Now,to the episode.

I'll admit at first I thought it was my sight betraying me or I'd downloaded a corrupted file,because I saw all blurry. Then I understood. It was,obviously,out poor Machine having problems to see.

First,The Machine calls daddy to seek help. Just like a child. So sweet. Although,I have a little question...if Finch had programmed her to warn him in case of imminent shutdown,why did she warn him in the Zero Day (season 2)? Or was it that this was a permanent shutdown so the emergency was much bigger,while the other one,she could handle it?

I have to say I love scenes with Finch and Root cooperating. Their chemistry has been growing,that's clear. And considering he doesn't always (almost never) agree with her,it makes it hilarious.

And then we have awesome scenes like this one:
Well,Root's badassery level has been raising and raising. I guess frequenting former agents,especially one,does help you improve your combatant skills,doesn't it?
It's one of the things I like most about her,because she's not just this skilled hacker,but also a good "soldier" that knows all to well how to fight.


Even though,I'm pretty sure it wasn't like that till season 2, was it? I bet Shaw gave her some lessons. I bet in the dull days they just spent hours training Root,especially with the cold war ongoing. It's the only explanation. Otherwise where would she get her skills? Unless she'd always hidden them,but considering how she fled from John in season 2...mmh...I highly doubt she knew more than how to handle a gun,back then. Yes,of course,she also fled because it was a highly skilled former Special Forces/CIA and a man,with obviously more physical strength,but I maintain my idea. She trained with coach Shaw :D

I also appreciated the very brief moment between Harold and Caleb. It was due. Even in all the mess.

And then comes my favorite scenes of the whole episode if not of the whole season,certainly in my top ten of scenes of the whole show. Amazing. Wonderful. Awfully perfect. I'm starting to think our Machine is a little bit of a fangirl too when it comes to Johnny here,though. Haha.
Well,I was fangirling at this one. But then,I always am when it comes to him. This scene was just epic,though. I don't even have words to describe it.
I wonder,considering he looked so calm even in such a surely deadly situation,if the Machine had either sort of warned him already or he simply felt that she wouldn't fail him. Mmh...considering the lack of trust in her he's always had (that's been being fixed lately,though) and his surprised look when Floyd read what the fax,I guess he simply was calm because he was resigned to his death. Sadly.

Dominic and Elias get arrested. Well,from some spoilers,I sort of knew it'd happen,just didn't know when and how. But Dominic seemed a little bit too confident. I guess he did have protections. Even in Rikers. Should we worry about HR rebuilding itself from ashes?



Now,once out of trouble,John of course dips himself in it once more,as usual,but first,an important pit-stop. Saying goodbye/saving Iris. Well,it was pretty obvious too,I think. I mean,he was going to die and if he lived,then his cover would have been blown anyway,so those he cared about would be in danger,but considering that outside Team Machine only Iris remains...although,now that I think about it,how comes,John? No worries about Zoe? But I guess he took for granted she could take care of herself,while the redhead freckled Snow-White would have been pretty much dead in the blink of an eye.
I like Iris,but...let's face it,she's not really the kind of woman we've been used to with his show. Other than the balls to kiss John Reese,sorry,Riley,and admitting her feelings,and even starting a relationship with someone she knows not to be who he says he is...well,there's not much left in Cinderella.

Although it'd be cool so see her come to his rescue in the opening of (supposed,hopefully certain) season 5.
Imagine: Iris & Zoe. Blonde and Rehead To The Rescue of  The Man in The Suit. 
Yes,I am a little bit insane. I know. But,was that ever relevant? As Root would say.


One thing I would ask John,is: is that the way of parting from your girlfriend,possibly forever?


Seriously? I know you're not truly in love,buddy, but...ok, maybe it's not really relevant here,but I couldn't help but wonder.


Ahm...*clears her throat* had I been you,Iris,I would have grabbed his arm and "said goodbye" how real romance commands u.u a kiss at least.

Now Greer. Man,I hate him. And yet I love him. It's always like this with villains here. You just can't fully hate them. In fact,I'm pretty sure,that despite having so wanted for Control to simply pull that darn trigger immediately,I would have also been sad if he'd died. I don't know,I want him dead and then I want him alive. Can't make up my mind.
Maybe it's just that John Nolan is such an amazing actor that he gets you in deep with the character and you hate him for being cruel but you just can't help but understand him. Besides,I want more flashbacks of Greer. Just to understand him a little bit better.
Props to Jonah's uncle,anyway. For being an incredible performer.

Now,I'm gonna skip the details about how The Machine managed to save a bit of herself,because I honestly hardly got it myself. Am not a champ in technology and things like that, you know. But I can only say it was brilliant. Who would have thought of that?

Then Reese,as usual, decides to be the hero...I guess that's one reason why even The Machine is fangirling over our Johnny. But dear,you gave a little be of a heart attack...I seriously thought he was going to sacrifice himself for the greater good. And I have no doubt that,when it will be,it's gonna be how he goes,but...well,I freaked out.

I was there like "no! don't you dare! it's insane!" Well,it was internal. Otherwise my roommate would have thought I am nuts,well,more than she thinks already.


Although the scene was awesome,to say the least. Another one that goes in my top ten. Times like this,it feels like they, John and The Machine,are a perfect partnership. Well,they are. I mean,she's his eyes and ears,he's her armed arm.




Now the Correction. It was never an attack. It was a literal correction. In details. Man,right when I think Samaritan can creep me out more...so it had decided a few heads needed to be cut off,in order to restore the order or,start doing so. In one thing Greer is right: every time it was needed to create a new world order,it started from blood,and not innocent blood,just the heads of those who would disrupt this new order.
Just think about the French Revolution. Or,as negative example,the Night of Long Knives in Germany (1933),which sanctioned Hitler's power.
Tha'ts the thing about Greer. He might be a foolish idealist. He might be crazy,but he is right in his own ways,or at least he has his own reasons.

I'm not saying I side with Samaritan,eh. Don't worry, the "evil" AI hasn't corrupted me...yet :P

I was and I am truly sorry for both Dominic and Elias dying. When Dominic was shot,for a moment I thought it had been Fusco,but it didn't make any sense,or maybe it had been one of Elias' pals...it was a poetic ending,I'll give you that, but...well,not the really right one Elias or even Dominic deserved,I think.

Elias had given up on everything but revenge after Anthony's death,all he wanted was to get his vengeance and since he got it,he was done,and considering that technically Dominic had won even,there was not much the New Godfather could do,was it? And yet...I think his storyline might have been developed a little more.

Dominic instead...I think he lost part of his cold pose after Link's death. He was clearly acting in a rush and without really thinking. For as much as I've always preferred Elias,I didn't really want him to die...

I have a question for you about these two: the bosses are dead,but do you think their "groups" might still live? I mean,maybe not Elias' one,because there isn't Scarface to keep it going,but the Brotherhood? How about Floyd now leading it?

And then we come to the heartbreaking scene. The ending was purposely so open,but Jonah said our heroes are gonna be on the run in the opening of season 5,so we can rest assured they'll be safe...for now.


Now this...it showed us the human side of The Machine,the one Samaritan lacks of,although simply because it didn't have the right teacher.
In a show like this, we've managed to get attached to an AI even,so much that it was heartbreaking so see her farewell to her father.
She felt she'd failed him,so she was ready to die because she thought he wanted her to. But then he gives her a reason and she fights.
The final "THANK YOU FOR CREATING ME" destroyed me.

It's incredible how they always manage to put together,and in such a perfect way,action and emotions and funny moments. Incredible.

This show is possibly the best one ever seen and it's even avangarde,considering what it foresaw,so losing it would be an indredible shame. It deserves to "live" for many years and certainly much more than many others. Maybe I'm biased,but Person of Interest,is,by far,the best show I've ever seen and also a bit underestimated in my opinion.

I mean,it comes out as sci-fi when it's almost reality (I really do hope there's not a Samaritan somewhere). It comes out as a crime show when it's much more than that,especially considering that a normal crime show investigates crimes. Here they prevent them.
This show is so,so much that I can't even find the words.

Hoping CBS will see reason soon,or,if not,that smart networks will buy the rights,as for review,I send you to September,where I'll be reviewing episode 5x01

Gio (aka All about Person of Interest)



Nessun commento:

Posta un commento