giovedì 23 giugno 2016

The Man in a Suit

I’ve waited to do this. I’ve waited a couple of hours after having watched the episode, not because of spoilers, but because I had to cope. I still haven’t, and it’ll be long, but, for now, I am able to write this.

IN MEMORY OF JOHN REESE
I’ve always been biased, can’t deny it, I’ve loved all characters on the show, but, well, if I had to pick, I’d always pick John. Then Joss. My favorite characters not just in Person of Interest, but of any other show or book or movie, simply, two of my favorites of all times.
When Carter died, I was lost, it took me a while to cope and, honestly, I still can’t make myself watch that specific episode, well, I guess it’ll be the same for Return 0. In truth, it shouldn’t have been a surprise, even though, apparently (because I haven’t watched it) the trailer for the finale had been wrapped up in a way that it seemed that it would be Finch to sacrifice (and here I could say they tricked us again, just like they did with Carter), I kinda knew, since long, that it would be John instead. I’ve always had the feeling he would be the one to go because they let it slip through half words, till Nolan openly admitted that, hadn’t it been for Sarah Shahi’s pregnancy, they would have had to have a “complicated talk with Jim”, meaning that, yes, they were going to kill off John Reese. Jokingly, Nolan also said it at the SDCC (or was it Paley? Can’t quite remember), when asked what would happen in the 100th episode of the series, and honestly, to some extents, her fans will forgive me, but I was almost relieved it was Root to go instead. Relieved just for a moment, then I realized there were still 3 episodes left and, because war requires sacrifice, and the sacrifice of the queen is the most valuable one, it couldn’t have been anybody else but John. I think that, looking back, he was destined to end like this, it was almost written that he would sacrifice to save others, and for a hero, there’s certainly no other way to go.

You know that the stages of grief are five, and after shock and denial, there’s anger, therefore yes, I kinda feel angry as well, because they could have given him a more proper death: sure, it was poetic, to end in such a heroic way, and the flashbacks about him as a child, it was great, but still. I know that the season was short and they had very little time to wrap it all up, but that he dies, and no one even grieves, we just go directly to the peace part, it doesn’t feel right, but then, Root had the same fate, probably worse, considering she died all alone, while, to the very least, John had The Machine beside him and could say goodbye to Harold, so I guess it makes sense. Therefore we’re back to depression, skipping bargaining and delaying acceptance.

It’s like mourning a friend you just lost, and I know it’s irrational, but pretty impossible to avoid, I bet you guys can understand me, well, Irrelevants can, after all, we’ve already felt it in season 3, for Carter, and in season 5 for Root. Though it’s also a problem of mine, I just can’t bear the deaths of fictional characters, I get too invested in shows and books and such, therefore it’s traumatic. Yes, if I had a penny  for the time I’ve felt more for a fictional character than for a real person I’d have the money to pay the psychiatric help I obviously need, but that’s not the point.

This is in memory of John Reese, The Man in a Suit, our hero, our Dark Angel.
I cried. I have to admit it. I’ve never once, not one single time, cried, truly cried over a fictional death, yes, I was emotional for Carter, yes, I shared a tear when Sirius Black died in Harry Potter, same goes for Dumbledore, Fred Weasley, and the others Rowling sacrificed, but never once did I truthfully cry like an infant. This time I did. Although, truth be told, I cried throughout half of the episode. It was that much strong, be it because it was the end of such a marvelous show or because it was really heartbreaking.



We always knew John was on borrowed time, as The Machine said, and that might be true, but I kinda feel they just got rid of him, maybe because he would have been the most painful death. Way to teach fairy tales don’t exist. (Sorry, the stages of grief keep swapping places)
The biggest regret is that, aside from Jessica and CIA, we didn’t really get to know everything of him, barely now we know his real last name, which makes me want to sit down a write a fanfiction fully based on John Reese’s old life, and wasn’t I so busy with real life, I might.

What we do know is, that he lost his family, his dad died a hero (we had no doubt), and John molded his life to be the same, although we could have had some more insight into his relationship with his dad, and maybe we would have had it, hadn’t time been so little. John strayed a little, but in the end he got back on track, and I’m sure his father is proud. We also know he joined the Army because of a fight he got involved in, and that he joined CIA because of 9/11, that he left Jessica because of that, and that, hadn’t Finch found him, he would have let himself die because of her loss. John Reese in a nutshell, you could say. Better said, his life.

If I had to describe John Reese, I’d say not all heroes wear capes, some wear a suit. A good man, despite all his mistakes, and I think that’s the best part of him, he’s been on both sides, darkness and light, and he chose light, he got on a path to redemption willingly, and he stayed there, despite his demons. I think that’s the essence of humanity. There are no good or bad people, we all have good and evil inside, what we are, it’s up to what we choose, and John Reese kinda mirrors us, with his struggles to be a good man after all that darkness, actually, we’ve seen that he’s made a lot of progress since season 1, thanks to Finch and Carter, thanks to friendship, which is one of the best things in the world, if you ask me, because when it’s real, true, actual, it fulfills you in a way that you could never imagine. It’s a pure love, without the hormones part.

John Reese is one of the most perfect characters ever written, and I’m not biased when I say that Jim couldn’t have portrayed him better than that, I couldn’t picture anybody else in that role, same goes for the others, but specifically Jim.

This death is still very bitter to me, and part of me tells me it could have been done better, but in the end, it made sense, after all, we can’t always have a happy ending, well, technically Finch had it, though I bet that, had they had a full season, the writers would have done even better than this, even if this is enough to send us to a shrink. The bitterness remains, but I force myself to recall they had too little time, though that doesn’t mean I won’t be mourning for a while longer, because, just the same as I had lost a good friend, I try not to think of it, because thinking of it makes me kinda depressed.


Well, all that remains is to say THANK YOU to this amazing cast and crew.

mercoledì 4 maggio 2016

5X01 BSOD - REVIEW

Guess who’s back?

No, not Voldemort...well,it depends,you might see the similaritie with Samaritan...anyways, not Voldemort.

The best, best, best show ever is back! Finally! After a whole year! 365 days without Person of Interest, and now we’ve finally been put out of our misery! And with what premiere! Let’s comment it together. 


This episode was a mix, a huge flashback to remind us what happened, and everything that happened. Now, the intro, we’d already seen it, I think it was at San Diego Comic Con that they showed it, but really, it presumes nothing good.

If you can hear this, you alone, the only thing left to fuss is the sound of my voice. I don't knwo if any of su made it. Did we win? Did we lose? I don't know. I'm not even sure I know what victory would mean anymore. And either way,it's over. So let me tell you who we were. Let me tell you who you are. And how we fought back.

This is evidently a flash forward, a trick that Jonah certainly is well accustomed with, given how much his brother Christopher uses it (you might have seen the mind-blowing Memento). My guess is,she's talking to Samaritan: let me tell you who you are.

I don’t know how many of us are left, Root says. Frightening, to say the least. Then again, we’ve already been warned that not all of our heroes make it out alive, Michael has implied it more than once, tweets give us an inkling … in a word, we’re pretty sure not everybody will live. 

But … we’re talking about a cast that shot Carter’s death twice with a different character just not to spoil anything, they told us that in season 4 finale at least 6 people would die, we fussed, yet it was only some recurring characters (I actually felt bad about Grice, it would have been cool to know his history with Shaw). So … not all is lost. Do remember that they like to have us suffer, though. 

This season is, sadly, the last one (unless Netflix becomes deus ex machina and picks up this unprecedented show, fingers crossed), and they said they were gonna drop the mic, leave with a boom … we’re not gonna make it out intact, know it. Anyways, we were left to our Team being chased by Samaritan’s goons all over New York, and the first scene we see, is John holding the case with what remains of the Machine. So they split, a few things are left to our intuition, but I think it’s reasonable that it was the same night and the few days after that. So let me resume it: 


  • John is on the run with the case.
  • Finch is on the run.
  • Root has the worst of it, the sole fact that it was Zachary, Greer’s number one minion after Martine and Jeremy, says it all, she’s the one whose head they want the most, because she’s in contact with the Machine, she’s the interface.
  • Fusco is undergoing an investigation from IA and FBI about Elias and Dominic’s deaths. 
Finch and John finally find each other again, and coolly, Harold saves his bro’s ass (I’m itching to see him handle a gun, seriously). But our Harry has bad memories of ferries … we all remember how Nathan left this world, don’t we? Our heroes finally step on and try their luck, while Fusco has to deal with Detective Soriano and the guy from FBI. 
In the beginning I thought it was Samaritan to have arranged the whole thing about him getting arrested for murdering the two kingpins, yet then I realized that those two investigating were actually ruining the evil AI’s plans. That’s why Soriano conveniently had problems with his peacemaker, and the FBI guy … he changed his mind out of the blue, how comes? So from suspect, Fusco became hero. 

However … our dear detective is too clever to just let everything slide, and, sounding like a perfect conspiracy nut, he goes on and on about some higher plot to kill Dominic and Elias. It’s only gonna get messier and messier from here, no doubt, we’ve seen in the extended preview that he gets shot, but I wonder, will he finally get to know about the Machine and Samaritan? 

I know his friends are protecting him by not telling him, but wouldn’t it be fair if Lionel knew what is he up against? The less people know, the better, yes, yes, but still, Fusco has been fighting side by side with Team Machine since the beginning more or less, why not just let him in? After all, he’s faced Samaritan’s goons either way. Just tell him already. What do you think? 
My guess is, what gets him shot is this search for truth he’s started, Samaritan’s gonna be on his tail, and we know how fast the evil thing is growing. 

Speaking of that … I find it alarmingly creepy that Samaritan can just switch humans on and off like it wants, incite civilians against our Team, like it did in the subway scene, just use human beings like pawns in a chess game, in fact. Finch said that about The Machine, but it’s Samaritan to be actually enacting that. I feel like this war is like the ones Greek gods fought amongst them, using human beings the same as a child would use those plastic soldiers to play. 

I mean, in the Greek myth, gods sided with this or that hero, helping them, but always indirectly, same as The Machine and Samaritan have been doing, though those gods didn’t just help, they had their games to win, and the assets, the plastic soldiers, were humans. It’s a huge metaphor that creepily applies to our world in real life as well, if you think about it. Then again, PoI is well known for the cultural references. 

The talk between Harold and The Machine was very sweet, it felt like a cute little kid asking countless questions to her dad. And when he rethinks his decision of erasing her memories every night? Touching, to the very least. The analogy with Harold’s father only made it more heartbreaking, I honestly had tears in my eyes. It was refreshing to see how Finch has changed his opinion about The Machine, we’ve seen that ever since he started the project, he thought of it as a possible enemy, never a friend, yet now, their relationship is becoming more and more the father-daughter type. He gave her the she pronoun for the first time, even, and that actually counts more than you might think, because it means that, officially, The Machine is indeed the same as a human being for him now, not an asset, not a simple artificial thing, but a real person indeed. 

Nathan and Grace giving him advice was sweet, it really felt like a true parent talking to his friends about his teenage daughter giving him a hard time. I’m sure those of you that have children might be able to relate to his issues, broadly speaking. 

Now the subway scene. 




Do you see any references here? On a funny note, why is it always the subway? It’s like a theme that keeps coming back, since the pilot, and I wonder if it’s involuntary or it was prepared since the beginning.

I love how Reese and Root’s relationship has been changing since their beginnings. They were mortal enemies, he didn’t trust her one bit, she was bitchy, annoying, let’s not forget she kidnapped Harold … yet, they’ve grown fond of each other, now it’s like they’re those siblings that keep bickering but will always have each other’s back. 

I love the way he thinks of her, fusses over protecting her, like a real big brother. I love how he’s practically that for both her and Shaw. Then again, we know our Team Machine is like a real family, where Finch is the cautious dad, Reese is the navigated big brother that keeps his unruly little sisters under his protective wing, and Fusco is the crazy uncle that makes you laugh with his hilarious stories. Although, I guess given the progress we’ll see with Shoot, I shouldn’t say Shaw and Root are sisters, but whatever (don’t hold it against me, I love them together, but really, this ship is fan service). 

Where are we going next? The end of the episode left us with hope: The Machine has restarted living, more or less, things might get better. Fusco is inquiring on Elias and Dominic’s deaths. He found a bullet the sniper left (which already stinks for me, because I don’t think Samaritan agents would be that sloppy), and he’s gonna look into it. 

Things are gonna get chaotic, no doubt. Until the next time, my fellow Irrelevants! This is gonna be a very hellish month, I was antsy even before watching the episode, and because we’re gonna get two episodes a week not, I need to remind you to book your sessions with the best shrink you can find, because we’re not gonna come out of this intact, you know it. You guys think I can resurrect Freud for the purpose?



me before watching every episode
Comment here or on the page,if you like,let me know what you think about this season premiere!

- All about Person of Interest admin aka Gio


mercoledì 13 aprile 2016

Only 20 days left. PoI premiere!

Alright,take a deep,deep breath. We're close.




We've waited and waited and waited...and it's finally here! Well...almost.

There are 20 days left to PoI!!


Remember where we left?



Right here. 
The  genie is in the bottle. The Machine,barely alive,is locked in a case that served to save her. Our heroes are on the run,facing unnumebered Samaritan agents. The situation is pretty much desperate. Oh, Shaw is still alive but in the hands of Samaritan (they kinda brainwashed her).

Now, here's a little synopsis of what's gonna happen:

Reese and Finch attempt to rescue the Machine’s source code before it deteriorates beyond repair. Also, Root fights for her life against an onslaught of Samaritan’s agents and Fusco is faced with hard questions following the deaths of Dominic and Elias.


Big returns:
Nathan Ingram. Obviously in a flashback (sadly). Last time we saw him,it was 2x22 Zero Day (yes,two whole seasons without a single Nathy moment,I'm as outraged as you are).

We found out how he died: ferry bombing,the government kinda killed him because he was being a little too nosy,which sounds like pretty much almost all of the CIA based movies,now that I think about it,hmmm...

Either way,my guess is,we're gonna review how The Machine was first created.


Grace Hendricks. I'm actually very curious. I mean,last time,we left her that she was moving to Italy,to be safe from Samaritan and its agents. What could happen now?

Maybe we'll see her in a flashback,too,something about Finch living his love story with his Grace while building the Machine? Mmh...doesn't sound too realistic. Maybe she'll come back?

What do you think? Why is Grace back (if she is at all)?


Other recurring characters are Zachary,Greer's muscle,and it's very easy to imagine why is he there,I mean,with the whole fight and such.

Then there's Detective Soriano. We've seen him only once,in 2x20 In Extremis. He was investiganting on Stills' death,and of course,the suspect was Fusco.
Because the press release says Fusco will be interrogated about Elias and Dominic's deaths, it's obvious why is Soriano here.
Fingers crossed,we're also gonna find out something more about our Lionel,because,let's face it,he's only had one episode about him,and it's been four seasons.

Now,the title of the episode. B.S.O.D.
Blue Screen of Death. It's an expression used to describe the display on a PC that has experienced a fatal system error. Windows-based systems show a blue screen when facing such situation,from there the acronym.

Sadly,it's out poor Machy.

But,fear not! Team Machine is already on the move! They're gonna save her....hopefully without casualties. 


The episode supposedly (bts seem to imply that) starts from a few months from that last fight we saw in the season 4 finale,which figures,after all,it's been a whole year. They started shooting by July if I remember right,so I guess it's gonna be at least two months from that battle.


There are still 20 days left,though. Keep counting!



giovedì 7 maggio 2015

4x22 YHWH (season finale) - REVIEW



I couldn't help but start the review with this. After all,after four seasons,The Machine was/is one of us,isn't she?
The magnificence of this show...it gets us to love even an AI!
Although it's not just for her that gif.

praying for season 5 to be actually confirmed
But let's get to the point. Although,a kindly mention that this was the last episode and we don't even know for sure there is a season 5 (sigh!). Those at CBS will have to make up their minds at some point,but as I said,it's about them having to decided which ones among their popular shows to drop. If things go bad and they decide to be stupid,I hope those at Warner Bros. are a little bit more foreseeing and sell the rights to another network (because of course,they CAN do that!)

But enough with the premise. Now.YHWH. Well,the title says it all,I guess. It's Yaweh,Jewis for God. So the title is referred to both AIs:

The Machine dying. Well,the religious reference is strong here. It makes me think of Christ dying to save us and I bet that was the idea,for how blasphemous it may sound. I mean,The Machine could have easily saved herself by turning her back to her human agents,just like Christ could have avoided all that suffering by using his Father's "powers" (pass me the term). But instead she chose to die to save them,just like Christ chose to die to save us.
Being Catholic (sort of),I am the first one to know such a definition would make grimace not few people,especially in the Vatican,but it fits and after all,there are worse ways of offending,if we have to be honest. It's just a similarity/parallelism after all,can't hurt anyone.

Samaritan. "A deity guiding our fates" as Greer says. This one might be referred to the Greek idea of fate as well,maybe,but the parallelism remains. We believe (everybody in their own different ways,at least for what concerns the three big monotheist religions) in a God guiding us through life. Just like Samaritan watches us all and guides our steps. Maybe a bit more cruelly,but still.

Now,to the episode.

I'll admit at first I thought it was my sight betraying me or I'd downloaded a corrupted file,because I saw all blurry. Then I understood. It was,obviously,out poor Machine having problems to see.

First,The Machine calls daddy to seek help. Just like a child. So sweet. Although,I have a little question...if Finch had programmed her to warn him in case of imminent shutdown,why did she warn him in the Zero Day (season 2)? Or was it that this was a permanent shutdown so the emergency was much bigger,while the other one,she could handle it?

I have to say I love scenes with Finch and Root cooperating. Their chemistry has been growing,that's clear. And considering he doesn't always (almost never) agree with her,it makes it hilarious.

And then we have awesome scenes like this one:
Well,Root's badassery level has been raising and raising. I guess frequenting former agents,especially one,does help you improve your combatant skills,doesn't it?
It's one of the things I like most about her,because she's not just this skilled hacker,but also a good "soldier" that knows all to well how to fight.


Even though,I'm pretty sure it wasn't like that till season 2, was it? I bet Shaw gave her some lessons. I bet in the dull days they just spent hours training Root,especially with the cold war ongoing. It's the only explanation. Otherwise where would she get her skills? Unless she'd always hidden them,but considering how she fled from John in season 2...mmh...I highly doubt she knew more than how to handle a gun,back then. Yes,of course,she also fled because it was a highly skilled former Special Forces/CIA and a man,with obviously more physical strength,but I maintain my idea. She trained with coach Shaw :D

I also appreciated the very brief moment between Harold and Caleb. It was due. Even in all the mess.

And then comes my favorite scenes of the whole episode if not of the whole season,certainly in my top ten of scenes of the whole show. Amazing. Wonderful. Awfully perfect. I'm starting to think our Machine is a little bit of a fangirl too when it comes to Johnny here,though. Haha.
Well,I was fangirling at this one. But then,I always am when it comes to him. This scene was just epic,though. I don't even have words to describe it.
I wonder,considering he looked so calm even in such a surely deadly situation,if the Machine had either sort of warned him already or he simply felt that she wouldn't fail him. Mmh...considering the lack of trust in her he's always had (that's been being fixed lately,though) and his surprised look when Floyd read what the fax,I guess he simply was calm because he was resigned to his death. Sadly.

Dominic and Elias get arrested. Well,from some spoilers,I sort of knew it'd happen,just didn't know when and how. But Dominic seemed a little bit too confident. I guess he did have protections. Even in Rikers. Should we worry about HR rebuilding itself from ashes?



Now,once out of trouble,John of course dips himself in it once more,as usual,but first,an important pit-stop. Saying goodbye/saving Iris. Well,it was pretty obvious too,I think. I mean,he was going to die and if he lived,then his cover would have been blown anyway,so those he cared about would be in danger,but considering that outside Team Machine only Iris remains...although,now that I think about it,how comes,John? No worries about Zoe? But I guess he took for granted she could take care of herself,while the redhead freckled Snow-White would have been pretty much dead in the blink of an eye.
I like Iris,but...let's face it,she's not really the kind of woman we've been used to with his show. Other than the balls to kiss John Reese,sorry,Riley,and admitting her feelings,and even starting a relationship with someone she knows not to be who he says he is...well,there's not much left in Cinderella.

Although it'd be cool so see her come to his rescue in the opening of (supposed,hopefully certain) season 5.
Imagine: Iris & Zoe. Blonde and Rehead To The Rescue of  The Man in The Suit. 
Yes,I am a little bit insane. I know. But,was that ever relevant? As Root would say.


One thing I would ask John,is: is that the way of parting from your girlfriend,possibly forever?


Seriously? I know you're not truly in love,buddy, but...ok, maybe it's not really relevant here,but I couldn't help but wonder.


Ahm...*clears her throat* had I been you,Iris,I would have grabbed his arm and "said goodbye" how real romance commands u.u a kiss at least.

Now Greer. Man,I hate him. And yet I love him. It's always like this with villains here. You just can't fully hate them. In fact,I'm pretty sure,that despite having so wanted for Control to simply pull that darn trigger immediately,I would have also been sad if he'd died. I don't know,I want him dead and then I want him alive. Can't make up my mind.
Maybe it's just that John Nolan is such an amazing actor that he gets you in deep with the character and you hate him for being cruel but you just can't help but understand him. Besides,I want more flashbacks of Greer. Just to understand him a little bit better.
Props to Jonah's uncle,anyway. For being an incredible performer.

Now,I'm gonna skip the details about how The Machine managed to save a bit of herself,because I honestly hardly got it myself. Am not a champ in technology and things like that, you know. But I can only say it was brilliant. Who would have thought of that?

Then Reese,as usual, decides to be the hero...I guess that's one reason why even The Machine is fangirling over our Johnny. But dear,you gave a little be of a heart attack...I seriously thought he was going to sacrifice himself for the greater good. And I have no doubt that,when it will be,it's gonna be how he goes,but...well,I freaked out.

I was there like "no! don't you dare! it's insane!" Well,it was internal. Otherwise my roommate would have thought I am nuts,well,more than she thinks already.


Although the scene was awesome,to say the least. Another one that goes in my top ten. Times like this,it feels like they, John and The Machine,are a perfect partnership. Well,they are. I mean,she's his eyes and ears,he's her armed arm.




Now the Correction. It was never an attack. It was a literal correction. In details. Man,right when I think Samaritan can creep me out more...so it had decided a few heads needed to be cut off,in order to restore the order or,start doing so. In one thing Greer is right: every time it was needed to create a new world order,it started from blood,and not innocent blood,just the heads of those who would disrupt this new order.
Just think about the French Revolution. Or,as negative example,the Night of Long Knives in Germany (1933),which sanctioned Hitler's power.
Tha'ts the thing about Greer. He might be a foolish idealist. He might be crazy,but he is right in his own ways,or at least he has his own reasons.

I'm not saying I side with Samaritan,eh. Don't worry, the "evil" AI hasn't corrupted me...yet :P

I was and I am truly sorry for both Dominic and Elias dying. When Dominic was shot,for a moment I thought it had been Fusco,but it didn't make any sense,or maybe it had been one of Elias' pals...it was a poetic ending,I'll give you that, but...well,not the really right one Elias or even Dominic deserved,I think.

Elias had given up on everything but revenge after Anthony's death,all he wanted was to get his vengeance and since he got it,he was done,and considering that technically Dominic had won even,there was not much the New Godfather could do,was it? And yet...I think his storyline might have been developed a little more.

Dominic instead...I think he lost part of his cold pose after Link's death. He was clearly acting in a rush and without really thinking. For as much as I've always preferred Elias,I didn't really want him to die...

I have a question for you about these two: the bosses are dead,but do you think their "groups" might still live? I mean,maybe not Elias' one,because there isn't Scarface to keep it going,but the Brotherhood? How about Floyd now leading it?

And then we come to the heartbreaking scene. The ending was purposely so open,but Jonah said our heroes are gonna be on the run in the opening of season 5,so we can rest assured they'll be safe...for now.


Now this...it showed us the human side of The Machine,the one Samaritan lacks of,although simply because it didn't have the right teacher.
In a show like this, we've managed to get attached to an AI even,so much that it was heartbreaking so see her farewell to her father.
She felt she'd failed him,so she was ready to die because she thought he wanted her to. But then he gives her a reason and she fights.
The final "THANK YOU FOR CREATING ME" destroyed me.

It's incredible how they always manage to put together,and in such a perfect way,action and emotions and funny moments. Incredible.

This show is possibly the best one ever seen and it's even avangarde,considering what it foresaw,so losing it would be an indredible shame. It deserves to "live" for many years and certainly much more than many others. Maybe I'm biased,but Person of Interest,is,by far,the best show I've ever seen and also a bit underestimated in my opinion.

I mean,it comes out as sci-fi when it's almost reality (I really do hope there's not a Samaritan somewhere). It comes out as a crime show when it's much more than that,especially considering that a normal crime show investigates crimes. Here they prevent them.
This show is so,so much that I can't even find the words.

Hoping CBS will see reason soon,or,if not,that smart networks will buy the rights,as for review,I send you to September,where I'll be reviewing episode 5x01

Gio (aka All about Person of Interest)



giovedì 30 aprile 2015

4x21 Asylum - REVIEW



I decided I'd start with this gif because I think it perfectly sums up this episode,doesn't it?

basically,every Irrelevant Addicted u.u
Now...Asylum. No better name,I think. Although the initial name was Black Site but this definitely fits better. In every sense.

So,like always,this season two the finale is split into two episode,I think for one simple reason: to drive the fans nuts. That can be the only explanation. Well,the insane one.

Now...let's start from the beginning...without thinking that this one was the second to last episode of this season and that in a week only PoI will be over...I feel like crying already :'(
yeah,we understand you,Leo...
Lucky thing I'm in too deep with university and exams and writing and books to read...woo.

Although,there is hope for a season 5,so...

But let's get to the point. Asylum. One hell of an episode. Definitely, I know I seem to be repeating myself, but the thing is,all the episodes of this amazing show are spectacular,case closed.

Now...time for a real review. Well,you basically nuts admin's review,that is. Make it suffice.

We might reduce the main points to three,but there is much more than just those main ones. I'll be random,no specific order,if not the one of the episode.

1. Control decides to dig into Samaritan's affairs. Well, it was about time,Ma'am! I mean,blinder than you,possibly only Senator Garrison.
Yeah,because,you just give infinite access to the government's feeds to a private organization that believes to be able to control an evil AI and you expect them not to do things behind your back to? Seriously? Seriously?! What the heck do you think they normally do? And,why the heck do you think they're doing all of this? Patriotism,like you (even though,that can be argued,but that's another point)? Please...Greer even turned his back to his own country.

Apart from this,I'll have to admit that Control is growing on me. I mean,I've always liked her,despite everything,but she's been growing on me. She's freaking cold and with a sheer determination and a badassery (yes,that too),that's freaking awesome even if she's on the bad side.

Although,I bet she won't be on that side for long. Just like I thought Hersh would change,and he kind of did,I think she will too. Not totally. I mean,it's not like she will join Team Machine (if we win,that is),but she's possibly be some sort of Elias,maybe.

This,made me smile:

It only means that she's reconsidering Team Machine,or,better said,that she kind of esteems and respects Harold. Well,that was clearly already,but I think she begins to understand his point of view.
Not sure if you get what I mean,of if I'm right.




2. Elias and Dominic at war. Oh,well,we can't say we didn't see that coming. It was as clear as the sun that Elias would strike back after Dominic killed his right-hand/best friend Anthony (aka Scarface),who I miss,by the way.

I mean,come on,Elias is The New Godfather. All due respect to Dominic and his evil mastermind,because he is truly that,but...well,Elias is Elias. And he has his fine and inimitable style. Dominic might be a mastermind,a pure master of strategy,but he'll never reach Elias. Let's be honest,the New Godfather is always one step ahead.

Now,Finch helping his old chess mate hold his business together,well,that was pretty obvious. Who else could that be? I like that,despite being a villain,Elias seems to always stand halfway. I mean,you know he's a villain,because he's a ruthless mob boss and everything,but on the other hand,he's helpful and not just to our Team Machine,but also to keep criminals at bay.
I'm not sure if there is an English equivalent,but here in Italy we say "non si muove foglia che Dio non voglia",which basically means "without God will's,no leaf moves",well,I'd paraphrase it referring to Elias. Nothing moves if he doesn't will it to.
Dominic is just at the beginning. Like an impatient pupil wanting to pass his teacher too fast.

here's when he finds out his own friend betrayed him
Said this,I like Dominic too. When he realized the maul was his own friend,he was clearly hurt. According to their speeches,we see that Dominic and Link shared a deeper bond that the one connected to the Brotherhood. Dominic was clearly on the verge of breaking (if not even crying) when he found out he'd just killed his friend for nothing.
Although I think he acted out of rage. Technically,he did ask for Link's own advice,probably hoping his friend would say to think better about it first,but at the same time knowing his friend would agree with his decision,if it had been somebody else,that is.
Maybe I'm reading between the lines when there's nothing,but I'm seeing a human side in Dominic. And that makes me like him more. Because despite behind so ruthless,he's human too,and when he realizeds his friend is dead and it's his own fault,he's clearly hurt. Just like he is when he thinks his friend has betrayed him.
here's when he realizes he's killed his own friend for nothing
The way I see it,Dominic is afraid he can't trust anyone but he wanted,really wanted to trust Link because they shared a long past,I think. They were just like Elias and Anthony. Best friends.
How would you feel if your best friend betrayed you? And even worse,if you were responsible for your best friend's death?

Although,what goes around,comes around,Mini. You killed his best friend,a revenge could only be expected. A pretty cruel revenge,yes,but...well, an eye for an eye,right?

3. Reese and Fusco caught up in the above mentioned war. Yeah,like fighting an evil AI wasn't enough. My sixth sense tells me one of them won't make it out of there alive. But my sixth sense (despite my being a woman) works as well as the Expo works,so... (Italians will understand).
What I mean is that,the fact that the voice (the woman,Shelly) says that some won't make it and we see Lionel,it could be a hint like it could be just a trap. We know all too well they like to do that. A lot. So while they hint at Lionel dying,the victim might be somebody else and I have no idea why but since Paleyfest I've been having this bad feeling about John...just hope I'm wrong.

About Reese and Fusco,there is also to acknowledge their increased chemistry. Their bantering is always getting sassier (did I spell it right? more sassy,that is) and it's hilarious. They're like an odd couple. Well,in the beginning Reese and Finch were that,but always in a different way.

4. Root and Finch on the rescue. It was a trap. I smelled trap since I saw the preview. And Root perfectly knew that,but of course,she'd just heard her beloved one's voice,after believing her dead... would you be rational? Sometimes I wonder how the heck does Harold manage to always be that.

Although,the chemistry between Root and Finch is really growing too and their moments are sometimes hilarious.

Now,her challenging The Machine smells so much of parallelism with Contingency that I won't even mention it.

I'll just go straight to Root killing Martine. I won't lie,it was nice to see. Such a badass scene. And so sudden. Maybe because I wasn't expecting the Blonde (now Brown-Haired) Terminator to get killed so easily. Maybe I expected blood. Ok,I'll admit...I did expect blood. Much blood.
I believe Martine was as much as bait as Sameen was anyway. It was obvious that Root would seek revenge and Greer perfectly knew that.
I'll shut up at this evil man being so cruel not to even blink an eye when who was practically his right-hand/protegé was killed. Sadly,the end of The Creepy Duo.

Greer is so creepy and yet fascinating as a villain. I'll never say that enough. Part of me hopes he dies as painfully as possible. The other would want him to live. Maybe Samaritan is defeated but he goes on the run?

ME WHEN THE MACHINE TALKS
5. The Machine and Samaritan talk. We're used to Samaritan communicating via texts or sort of,but our Machine...wooo...for a moment I even thought we'd hear a female voice. Well,when in the end,before being killed,that Shelly gave that speech,at first I nearly had a heart attack,convinced it was The Machine herself to be talking.

They've said only one AI will survive after the finale. Well,don't know about you,but I bet on our Machine. Although,they might be cruel enough to let Samaritan "kill her" and then in season 5 she'll resurrect (only now I see the season finale title YHWH might have the simplest of meanings after all).

That The Machine cared,we always knew,although I did have some doubts at first,just like Harold. I'll admit I almost expected her to call him daddy xD


Now...we're close to the ending and overall,this is me:


I see tears,many,many tears ahead,my fellow Irrelevants. And much desperation.

Because being a PoI Irrelevant is a tough job and not everybody if apt to it,and those who are...well,they tend to be a little nuts at some point.


Said this,I say BYE and,hold on,CBS will see reason at some point and finally give the announcement we're all waiting for.